Georgia Commission Officially Changes Prograis Win To TKO
As part of the wild and at times borderline-unhinged Triller Fight Club PPV Saturday night in Atlanta, former Jr. Welterweight World champ Regis Prograis was involved in a controversy regarding the sixth round ending of his co-feature bout. Well, on Monday after about 36 hours of criticism, the Georgia Boxing Commission has cleared things up in his favor.
In a tweet mid-day Monday, Editor Grey Johnson aka “Boxrec Grey” of the definitive site in the sport for records and outcomes BoxRec.com, cleared up that Prograis’ bout is now a technical knockout rather than a technical decision,
FYI: I received the official results of the Prograis fight this morning which stated it was a technical decision. After talking to the Georgia commission this morning, they admitted it was a mistake. The result has been changed to @RPrograis winning by TKO6.
— Waiting to Rank Efe Ajagba In the HW Top Ten (@BoxrecGrey) April 19, 2021
As we wrote Saturday night, the now 26-1 Prograis was credited with a 6 round technical decision after landing an overhand left followed by a glancing straight right hand to Ivan Redkach’s right side and kidney area. Judge for yourself on the punch, and how it obviously wasn’t a low-blow (foul) that caused Redkach to crumble.
— FITE (@FiteTV) April 18, 2021
What happened next was straight out of “bad acting” outtakes, as Redkach laid on the mat hollering and grimacing, while holding his crotch area. The referee seemed to buy that it was a low blow, ordered Prograis to a neutral corner and started the clock on Redkach being given five minutes to recover.
Quickly though, replays being shown on the Triller app and even on big boards in Mercedes Benz Stadium, clearly showed the punch wasn’t a low blow. Redkach was actually put on a stretcher for his antics, but soon after the three judge unanimous decision was read.
Prograis seemed confused initially that he might be disqualified but continued to point the replay boards showing the punch wasn’t low. And, in the end, he got the victory.
Early Sunday morning, the 32 year old Prograis made clear that he wanted the outcome changed,
I want that decision changed to a KO on my record. That wasn’t low. That’s bullshit!!!
— Rougarou (@RPrograis) April 18, 2021
So, it’s good that in the face of overwhelming evidence that the punch wasn’t low, that the Georgia commission did what they could, which is declare it a stoppage for Redkach failing to continue.
Prograis previously won the WBA’s 140-pound belt in April 2019 when he stopped Kiryl Relikh. He suffered his first career loss six months later, when he dropped a majority decision to Scotland’s Josh Taylor in the finale of a World Boxing Super Series Tournament.
He hopes to get Josh Taylor in a potential rematch. That’s provided Taylor wins his Undisputed battle with Jose Ramirez at 140 lb. coming in May.