Connect with us

Roy Jones Miguel Cotto James Toney Lead HOF Class

1995 Bowe-Golota I Ended With Mayhem

Boxing News

Roy Jones Miguel Cotto James Toney Lead HOF Class

Melina Pizano- Matchroom Boxing USA

Roy Jones Miguel Cotto James Toney Lead HOF Class

On Tuesday, the International Boxing Hall of Fame announced it’s newest inductees for their 2022 class and three more great fighters are headed in next year. Further, the likes of Roy Jones Jr., Miguel Cotto and James Toney will be joining several other greats on the same stage next year, as the Hall will try to hold it’s induction for the first time in three years next June.

First, the Hall of Fame made their 2022 decisions official on the internet and their social media Tuesday,

The Hall confirmed in their press release that they will try to hold their two year delayed inductions of the 2020 and 2021 classes with the 2022 honorees at the same ceremony,

We’re extremely excited about the Class of 2022 and are very much looking forward to honoring the newest class of inductees to earn boxing’s highest honor,” said Executive Director Edward Brophy.

Due to the cancellation of the two previous Induction Weekends, the Classes of 2020, 2021 and 2022 will be honored at a “Once In a Lifetime” Hall of Fame Weekend Induction Trilogy scheduled for June 9-12th in “Boxing’s Hometown.”

“With today’s announcement, we are thrilled to have the final piece of the Induction Trilogy in place,” said Brophy.

The Class of 2020 includes Bernard Hopkins, Juan Manuel Marquez, Shane Mosley, Christy Martin, Lucia Rijker, Barbara Buttrick, Frank Erne, Paddy Ryan, Lou DiBella, Kathy Duva, Dan Goossen, Bernard Fernandez and Thomas Hauser.

The Class of 2021 includes Wladimir Klitschko, Floyd Mayweather, Andre Ward, Laila Ali, Ann Wolfe, Marian Trimiar, Jackie Tonawanda, Davey Moore, Freddie Brown, Dr. Margaret Goodman, Jackie McCoy, George Kimball and Jay Larkin.

The 2022 Hall of Fame Weekend Induction Trilogy will feature many events in “Boxing’s Hometown” of Canastota throughout the four-day celebration, including a 5K Race / Fun Run, boxing autograph card show, Parade of Champions and the Official Induction Ceremony on the Hall of Fame Museum Grounds.”

As referenced above, the Hall of Fame has suffered from the Covid 19 pandemic beginning in March of 2020 and completely cancelling their 2020 induction ceremonies in upstate New York. Further, the Hall had remained closed for over six months and has been reeling from financial problems, as well.

Now, they are trying re-emerge with what would in theory be their biggest weekend/celebratory event ever.

As for the Tuesday announced recipients: Jones is regarded is arguably the most talented and successful non-heavyweight of the 1990s. This included Jones having been Light Heavyweight world champ on three occasions.  Primarily a Welterweight and Jr. Middleweight, Cotto held world titles in four weight divisions and won 20 world championship bouts himself.

And, for “Lights Out” Toney, he was also a three division world champ, including at Light Heavyweight and Heavyweight. However, he famously lost to Jones in 1994, when they both entered their Super Middleweight title showdown unbeaten. However, he won an incredible 77 pro bouts in his career.

Continue Reading

A veteran broadcaster of over 25 years, T.J. has been a fight fan longer than that! He’s the host of the “Big Fight Weekend” podcast and will go “toe to toe” with anyone who thinks that Marvin Hagler beat Sugar Ray Leonard or that Tyson, Lennox Lewis or Deontay Wilder could have beaten Ali!

More in Boxing News

To Top